Top : Boat Design and Boatbuilding Books


Where the Crawdads Sing


  


 : Where the Crawdads Sing

List Price: $26.00
Amazon.com's Price: $15.60
You Save: $10.40 (40%)
as of 06/26/2019 10:14 EDT



Availability: Usually ships in 24 hours



This item ships for FREE with Super Saver Shipping.
Binding: Hardcover
Brand: G.P. Putnam's Sons
EAN: 9780735219090
Edition: Later Printing
Feature: Where the Crawdads Sing Hardcover - August 14, 2018
ISBN: 0735219095
Item Dimensions: 930630125120
Label: G.P. Putnam's Sons
Languages: EnglishPublishedEnglishOriginal LanguageEnglishUnknown
Manufacturer: G.P. Putnam's Sons
MPN: 980179519
Number Of Items: 1
Number Of Pages: 384
Publication Date: August 14, 2018
Publisher: G.P. Putnam's Sons
Release Date: August 14, 2018
Studio: G.P. Putnam's Sons

Features:
  • Where the Crawdads Sing Hardcover - August 14, 2018



Related Items: Alternate Versions: Click to Display



Editorial Review:

Product Description:
#1 New York Times Bestseller
A Reese Witherspoon x Hello Sunshine Book Club Pick

"I can't even express how much I love this book! I didn't want this story to end!"--Reese Witherspoon

"Painfully beautiful."--The New York Times Book Review

"Perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver."--Bustle


For years, rumors of the "Marsh Girl" have haunted Barkley Cove, a quiet town on the North Carolina coast. So in late 1969, when handsome Chase Andrews is found dead, the locals immediately suspect Kya Clark, the so-called Marsh Girl. But Kya is not what they say. Sensitive and intelligent, she has survived for years alone in the marsh that she calls home, finding friends in the gulls and lessons in the sand. Then the time comes when she yearns to be touched and loved. When two young men from town become intrigued by her wild beauty, Kya opens herself to a new life--until the unthinkable happens.

Perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver and Karen Russell, Where the Crawdads Sing is at once an exquisite ode to the natural world, a heartbreaking coming-of-age story, and a surprising tale of possible murder. Owens reminds us that we are forever shaped by the children we once were, and that we are all subject to the beautiful and violent secrets that nature keeps.

Amazon.com Review:
An Amazon Best Book of August 2018: Although this is Delia Owens’ first novel, she long ago distinguished herself as a gifted writer. In the mid-80s, Owens co-wrote with her husband Cry of the Kalahari, which was a best-selling, nonfictional account of traveling and researching Africa’s Kalahari Desert. One of the joys of that book was the Owens’ description of the natural world, and Where the Crawdads Sing is immersed in the natural world as well. The story is set in the 1950s and revolves around a young woman named Kya Clark, who is from extremely rural North Carolina. Known by others as the Marsh Girl, she lives alone in nature—but the draw of other people, and specifically love, brings her into contact with the greater world. This novel has a mystery at its core, but it can be read on a variety of levels. There is great nature writing; there is coming of age; and there is literature. Crawdads is a story lovingly told—one that takes its time in developing its characters and setting, and in developing the story. You’ll want to relax and take your time as well, and when you’re done you will want to talk about it with another reader. – Chris Schluep , Amazon Book Review





 



Boat Design.Net
Design Award


  Top Rated Sites
 
  Most Popular Sites
 
  What's New

  Boat Plans
 
  Books
 
  Designers
 
  Boatbuilders
 
  Materials
 
  Powerboats
 
  Catamarans
 
  Propulsion
 
  Sailboats
 
  Multihulls
 
  Software
 
  Resources
 
  My Links
 
  Gallery
 
  Forums
 
  Search

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on amazon.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of the product. Boat Design Net is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to amazon.com.
Thank You for Your Support of Boat Design.Net

Home  |  Top of Page