Top : Boat Design and Boatbuilding Books


The Cay


  


 : The Cay

List Price: $11.95
Amazon.com's Price: $5.68
You Save: $6.27 (52%)
as of 12/10/2019 01:54 EST



Availability: Usually ships in 24 hours



This item ships for FREE with Super Saver Shipping.
Binding: Paperback
Brand: Yearling
EAN: 9780440416630
Edition: 1
Feature: Yearling Books
ISBN: 0440416639
Item Dimensions: 7695252038
Label: Yearling
Languages: EnglishPublishedEnglishOriginal LanguageEnglishUnknown
Manufacturer: Yearling
MPN: 9780440416630
Number Of Items: 1
Number Of Pages: 160
Publication Date: May 28, 2002
Publisher: Yearling
Release Date: May 28, 2002
Studio: Yearling

Features:
  • Yearling Books



Related Items: Alternate Versions: Click to Display

Browse for similar items by category: Click to Display



Editorial Review:

Product Description:
For fans of Hatchet and Island of the Blue Dolphins comes Theodore Taylor’s classic bestseller and Lewis Carroll Shelf Award winner, The Cay.
   Phillip is excited when the Germans invade the small island of Curaçao. War has always been a game to him, and he’s eager to glimpse it firsthand–until the freighter he and his mother are traveling to the United States on is torpedoed.
   When Phillip comes to, he is on a small raft in the middle of the sea. Besides Stew Cat, his only companion is an old West Indian, Timothy. Phillip remembers his mother’s warning about black people: “They are different, and they live differently.”
    But by the time the castaways arrive on a small island, Phillip’s head injury has made him blind and dependent on Timothy.

“Mr. Taylor has provided an exciting story…The idea that all humanity would benefit from this special form of color blindness permeates the whole book…The result is a story with a high ethical purpose but no sermon.”—New York Times Book Review
 
“A taut tightly compressed story of endurance and revelation…At once barbed and tender, tense and fragile—as Timothy would say, ‘outrageous good.’”—Kirkus Reviews
 
* “Fully realized setting…artful, unobtrusive use of dialect…the representation of a hauntingly deep love, the poignancy of which is rarely achieved in children’s literature.”—School Library Journal, Starred
 
“Starkly dramatic, believable and compelling.”—Saturday Review
 
“A tense and moving experience in reading.”—Publishers Weekly
 
“Eloquently underscores the intrinsic brotherhood of man.”—Booklist
 
"This is one of the best survival stories since Robinson Crusoe."—The Washington Star

· A New York Times Best Book of the Year
· A School Library Journal Best Book of the Year
· A Horn Book Honor Book
· An American Library Association Notable Book
· A Publishers Weekly Children’s Book to Remember
· A Child Study Association’s Pick of Children’s Books of the Year
· Jane Addams Book Award
· Lewis Carroll Shelf Award
· Commonwealth Club of California: Literature Award
· Southern California Council on Literature for Children and Young People Award
· Woodward School Annual Book Award
· Friends of the Library Award, University of California at Irvine





 



Boat Design.Net
Design Award


  Top Rated Sites
 
  Most Popular Sites
 
  What's New

  Boat Plans
 
  Books
 
  Designers
 
  Boatbuilders
 
  Materials
 
  Powerboats
 
  Catamarans
 
  Propulsion
 
  Sailboats
 
  Multihulls
 
  Software
 
  Resources
 
  My Links
 
  Gallery
 
  Forums
 
  Search

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on amazon.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of the product. Boat Design Net is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to amazon.com.
Thank You for Your Support of Boat Design.Net

Home  |  Top of Page