Top : Boat Design and Boatbuilding Books


The Brendan Voyage: Sailing to America in a Leather Boat to Prove the Legend of the Irish Sailor Saints (Modern Library Exploration)


  


 : The Brendan Voyage: Sailing to America in a Leather Boat to Prove the Legend of the Irish Sailor Saints (Modern Library Exploration)

Amazon.com's Price: $19.00
as of 12/13/2019 20:18 EST



Availability: Usually ships in 24 hours



This item ships for FREE with Super Saver Shipping.
Binding: Paperback
EAN: 9780375755248
Edition: First Thus
ISBN: 9780375755248
Item Dimensions: 7965207364
Label: Modern Library
Languages: EnglishPublishedEnglishOriginal LanguageEnglishUnknown
Manufacturer: Modern Library
MPN: Ill.
Number Of Items: 1
Number Of Pages: 304
Publication Date: April 04, 2000
Publisher: Modern Library
Release Date: April 04, 2000
Studio: Modern Library




Related Items: Alternate Versions: Click to Display

Browse for similar items by category: Click to Display



Editorial Review:

Product Description:
Could an Irish monk in the sixth century really have sailed all the way across the Atlantic in a small open boat, thus beating Columbus to the New World by almost a thousand years? Relying on the medieval text of St. Brendan, award-winning adventure writer Tim Severin painstakingly researched and built a boat identical to the leather curragh that carried Brendan on his epic voyage. He found a centuries-old, family-run tannery to prepare the ox hides in the medieval way; he undertook an exhaustive search for skilled harness makers (the only people who would know how to stitch the three-quarter-inch-thick hides together); he located one of the last pieces of Irish-grown timber tall enough to make the mainmast. But his courage and resourcefulness were truly tested on the open seas, including one heart-pounding episode when he and his crew repaired a dangerous tear in the leather hull by hanging over the side--their heads sometimes submerged under the freezing waves--to restitch the leather. A modern classic in the tradition of Kon-Tiki, The Brendan Voyage seamlessly blends high adventure and historical relevance. It has been translated into twenty-seven languages since its original publication in 1978.

With a new Introduction by Malachy McCourt, author of A Monk Swimming





 



Boat Design.Net
Design Award


  Top Rated Sites
 
  Most Popular Sites
 
  What's New

  Boat Plans
 
  Books
 
  Designers
 
  Boatbuilders
 
  Materials
 
  Powerboats
 
  Catamarans
 
  Propulsion
 
  Sailboats
 
  Multihulls
 
  Software
 
  Resources
 
  My Links
 
  Gallery
 
  Forums
 
  Search

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on amazon.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of the product. Boat Design Net is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to amazon.com.
Thank You for Your Support of Boat Design.Net

Home  |  Top of Page